Ideas for pattern within the composition of my tiles


Using photoshop, I took existing photographs of my tiles and duplicated them to produce patterns. It’s refreshing to use a different medium of exploring composition rather than my usual cutting out printed out pictures and collating them in my sketchbook.
It’s also interesting visually looking at the outcome when only a few colours are used. With a repeated pattern and only two colours, it gives an entirely different, more orderly feel to my pieces. I see this as a positive as it means they can be used for different purposes and maybe blend in to the interior of a house rather than being a statement piece of wall art.

I particularly like the rotating grey marble rhombus. Repetition proves a nice contrast to the random nature of the marbled effect. Also, just the blue and green Tessellating tiles on their own look very formal, and extends their possibility of being used in more of a corporate, stricter environment.

The star arrangement with the pale blue marble, blue and green lends itself to a more traditional Asian interior; so this ties the designs nicely back to my original source of inspiration: Rajasthan.

Leave a Reply

